"All tickets for T20 match sold out," read the board placed outside the Kerala Cricket Association office, around three days prior to the scheduled final T20I between India and New Zealand. For such a town of Thiruvananthapuram that has the tendency of early sleepy nights, Tuesday was almost an exceptions with India and New Zealand battling out in the T20I series decider match. Despite the weather threats coming up, audience was expecting everything to go as decided and in fact everything appeared to be going good until rains appeared as the spoil sport in yesterday’s match.  The match couldn’t begin; even the toss was delayed to the voluminous rains falling from the sky. The ground was wet and so was the grass. Later when the rains subsided a bit, the toss ceremony took place at 9:15 pm being around 3 hours later to the actual schedule. New Zealand winning the toss decided on offering the batting side to the Indian team and awaited an exciting bustle. Wickets appeared falling however; runs were still gained leading to a score of 68 in a rain curtailed over limit of 8 overs. India lost their 5 wickets and some of the star performers namely Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer and Manish Pandey. Even though the fall of wicket was a bit high rated, they succeeded in scoring runs too leading the score to 68 runs. Chasing the score, the Kiwis appeared a bit over confident but were playing well in the initial overs. They could only reach to the score of 61 runs in 8overs, falling short of 6 runs for letting India lift the winning trophy. Martin Guptill was the first fall, succeeded by Colin Munro, Kane Williamson, Glenn Phillips Henry Nicholls and Tom Bruce. Greenfield Stadium became the 19th venue to host this T20I match in India. This was the first ever international level T20 match that was being hosted at Greenfield Stadium in Vishakhapatnam that turned out to be a victorious regime for the Indians.

Tags : :